Book Review – Dessert First by Hallie Durand

Dessert First by Hallie Durand

dessert-first

Dessert Schneider’s new teacher encourages students to march to the beat of their own drum. This is no problem for Dessert, who has a lot of bright ideas and ambition, especially when it comes to sweets. But when Dessert takes things a little too far, she’s choc-full of regret and has no idea how to get herself back in good graces with her family.

I woke up the next day with a smile on my face. I could tell it was cold out because there was frost on my windows, but knowing there were Double-Deckers in the fridge put me in a good mood.

Dessert First is a sweet story about a girl with a massive sweet tooth and perhaps a little too much ambition. Dessert’s lack of self-control leads to some bad decisions that will have young readers cringing, but realistic consequences and wise council from Dessert’s teacher provide balance to Dessert’s strong independent streak.

“A maraschino cherry,” said Mrs. Howdy Doody. “When it comes right down to it, that’s all you need in life, isn’t it?”

Dessert First will appeal to fans of Junie B. Jones and Ramona, but has plenty of unique elements that set it apart, including the Schneider’s French fondue restaurant, and the unforgettable Mrs. Howdy Doody. I’ll be keeping an eye out for the second book!

⬢ ⬢ ⬢  THREE STARS
Read my review on Goodreads

 


Looking for mouthwatering middle grade stories? Check out #MGCarousel for more!

mgcarousel2018-05may-instagram1

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Dessert First by Hallie Durand

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s