Book Review – The League of Beastly Dreadfuls

Grant, Holly - League of Beastly Dreadfuls Anastasia McCrumpet is as average as they come. Not at all like the flashy heroine in her favorite mystery series. But when she’s taken away by unknown relatives to an retired insane asylum, Anastasia will need to rely on all her detecting wisdom to find out why she’s there in the first place, or go mad trying to get to the bottom of it.

Anastasia’s day began with a funeral, and it went downhill from there.


The League of Beastly Dreadfuls is just the kind of story I like to read. High stakes and high tension, the terrifying trappings of an old Victorian manor, narration that is equal parts humorous and horrifying, twists and turns that keep you on your toes, and a heroine with a good head on her shoulders despite the hopelessness of her situation. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Barbara Brooks Wallace will eat up this clever and complex mystery.

Anastasia had read about orphans in storybooks. To an almost-eleven-year-old girl with two parents, orphans had been sort of a mythical figure, like unicorns and mermaids. A creature that lived in the pages of a book. And now she was one. An orphan, that is. Not a unicorn.

While written in an engagingly humorous style, this book is very high-tension and plays up the creepy-Victorian-mental-hospital vibes, landing it in the Middle Grade Horror category. Don’t read too close to bedtime!

 

⬢ ⬢ ⬢ ⬢ ⬢  FIVE STARS
Read my review on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s