Book Review – My Life as a Potato

My Life as a Potato by Arianne CostnerBen Hardy has been cursed by potatoes. Moving to Idaho seemed like a bad sign — and sure enough, a catastrophe in the cafeteria soon lands him a job as the substitute mascot for their school. Which is (you guessed it) a friendly spud. With learning how to maneuver in a musty old costume, sorting out his plans for the big school dance, and keeping his identity under wraps, Ben’s life as a potato is anything but bland.

Out of all the mascot options — the Cougars, the Eagles, the Saber-Toothed Tigers — my new school just had to be the Spuds.

I’m always in the mood for good comedy, and My Life as a Potato is just that. Punchy but positive humor, understandable conflict, and sticky (or should I say starchy?) situations create an irresistible mashup that will have you asking for seconds. I found myself giggling on nearly every page and rooting for Ben through it all.

Mascots have no shame, I repeat to myself, and then I stand on the bench and cup my hand to my invisible spud ear. Amazingly, the cheers crescendo. I raise the roof, and they grow even louder. What kind of magic is this? I feel the power!

Readers who enjoyed The Doughnut Fix and Airball: My Life in Briefs will want to add this to their TBR ASAP!

 

⬢ ⬢ ⬢ ⬢ ⬢  FIVE STARS
I received an ARC from the author through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinions shared in this review are all my own.


Read my review on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s